Though I tell people I have been "training", I admit that I haven't been training as hard as I should be for these upcoming races. My goal for the half marathon: under two hours. My goal for the full marathon: under 4 hours.
Okay-- Before I get to the depressing/bad news I am going to put the good first. Joe and I bought a kitten two weeks ago. His name is Louie. No bigger than a football, this kitten has a lot of personality. The best part is: he isn't the typical "shitty kitty". He uses his litter box when needed, cuddles, plays gently, and most of all, he loves Tia and Joe! .. or ... Mom and Dad? Since I am new to the area, Louie has been a wonderful companion. He really listens to all of my problems, and provides little critical feedback. Why can't all men be like Louie? ;)
Louies hobbies: Cuddling, and reading the Hunger Games.
| Meet Mr. Louie. |
| Louie, paying bills. |
With all of the cuteness aside. I have been torn with training. During the week my runs seems TOO easy. Meanwhile, I feel physically and mentally unprepared for my long runs. I know that beginner-intermediate plans are supposed to be like this, and yet I still feel like I am being fooled by the experts. There is something about the double digit distance that still churns my stomach.
Last year I had a large support group (all runners). Within ten minutes I was able to find at least two girls to run with at any time of the day. Right now I would give my left... pinky.. (seems less grueling) for that. I have indeed found a couple of people to run with on occasion, however the real world provides road blocks with planning dates. Am I the only one who is realizing this?! ..
Anyways. Things WILL get better. I will be increasing my visits with my chiropractor (who is excellent) for the next few months. With his advice I will decide if I am setting myself up for a hip replacement or not. If I am, I will be one funny looking bride, because I am NOT going to give up on running.. yet.
Here is my progress for the week. This is the first time I will be posting times. Yes, I have gotten slower since college. And it sucks. A lot.
Fifth Week:
August 13th-August 19th
Monday:
Always a rest day!
Tuesday:
Track workout. 6X3 minutes 75-80% intensity.
50 crunches & 5 pushups between intervals. One mile warmup/cooldown.
Wednesday:
Rest
Thursday:
3.3 miles-- Slow morning run. 33:00 minutes. This is a very slow time for me.
1 mile- Evening run. 8:14 minutes.
Friday:
Saturday:
Sunday:
The rest of the week will be updated. Tomorrow I plan to run 3-5, Saturday will be a 12 miler, and Sunday will be a slow 2-3 shake out, and possible swimming if my hip is hurting.
| Track workouts aren't so bad. Especially nights like this. Simply gorgeous! |
| Saving the best for last. Hank, the greatest dog and companion on Earth. |
Thanks for reading. Stay happy and healthy.
xoxo
-Tia
No comments:
Post a Comment