Today has been a great Friday. After a three mile run, and a 30 minute strength routine, it is only 1:16. I'm sure you are thinking.. so? I got that done before 10 a.m. Well, one thing you should know.. I like to procrastinate. Scratch that. I am a professional procrastinator. I am addicted to racing the clock and or deadlines (I really hope my future career is not at risk because of this post). If your my future boss, please skip to the next paragraph, thanks. So, for instance. I have an appointment at 3:00 today. I will more than likely begin the shower/dress/makeup process at 2:15-2:20.............Okay Tia enough.
Anyways, like I was saying. Today has been a great Friday! I have been recently training as a barista. With two hours of taste testing on an empty stomach this a.m., I arrived home fully caffeinated and ready to exercise. It was awesome. My run was much better than two days ago (after my motivation post, sad I know). That day just wasn't my day. Usually, the more I think, the less ready I am mentally for my run. Such a mind game I tell ya. Can you relate? Though I am only in my second week of training, I have become paranoid that I won't be ready for my races. This reoccurring negative cloud lingers during the first few weeks of my training. Possibly because I am running slower, I am panting, sweating, and my feet feel like lead blocks. Sunday I am scheduled to run 6 miles. After I accomplish that run, I am hoping that cloud will pass. I remind myself that training takes time. Months!
![]() |
| Training schedule. I've made some adjustments. (How do I rotate this!?) |
- Bicep curls. Usually 8lbs X 20
- Triceps "scull crushers." "
- Shoulders. 5lbs X12-15. Straight armed: front/side.
- Push-ups-Military (I am starting at 6. Don't laugh)
- Ab routine of choice
- Squats
- Lunges
- Chest fly. 8lbs X15
Last, I have been working on hydration! Since I don't enjoy water as much as I should, I have been sticking with Vita Coco water. I swear by this stuff. Electrolytes/no sugar= Happy Tia, and all other runners who do not drink nearly enough ... water ;)
That's all I've got for today. Two key things I must remind myself (you should too if your in a rut)
1. Training takes time.
2. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.
Thanks for reading.
::Tia::