I woke to a near flood outside. I thought, there is absolutely no way that this race is going to go on. Sure enough it was ON. On my way to the race I passed a few rivers nearly flooding over the tree/branch infected road. What the hell happened that night? As our team arrived to the race, the nerves set in. We knew some things about the race, but not all.
Things we knew
1. It was a 4.5 mile race.
2. There would be more than 5 obstacles through-out the race.
3. The race consisted of 99.9% trail running.
4. We were going to get wet.
5. No one was allowed on the course to spectate (unless you volunteered).
I honestly don't know why we were tip-toeing like sissys around the rain drops pre-race, because let me tell you, we were soaked head to toe (literally shoes full with water) by the end.
![]() |
| First obstacle (within 2 minutes of the race). |
After sliding down the giant slip n' slide (going 100mph) we all stood mouths wide open, like: We can't wait to see what comes next!
The rest of the race was an absolute blast. We crawled through tunnels (disgusting). We dragged through a swamp (even more disgusting, bloody bunny tail). But more than anything, we SWAM. Because of all the rain, this race was intensified X100. In fact, several obstacles were shut down because of the rapid water.
Wabi Sabi came in third overall, which is pretty awesome. We finished in less than an hour, with one twisted ankle, a few cuts and bruises, hay and dirt in unwanted spots, and not to mention, FREEZING. Luckily we were rewarded with beer and pizza (at 10 a.m.).
I can't wait to do this next summer. I secretly hope it rains again, since it contributed to the shock factor.
For now, I am training and trying to get my mileage up. My knee has been bothering me. With some consistent chiropractor visits I am hoping to get better fast!
Next up: Tough Mudder.
*Tia*



