Wednesday, May 22, 2013

It's time to W(RUN)ITE again!

Hey everyone, or anyone?

I am officially back on the grid. It is time for this girl to write again. I would not be offended if I was labeled as a "fare-weather" writer. It's true. It's true. But hey, I am full of will power. For now.

It has almost been a full year since I have typed on this bad boy. I honestly blame my senior project (last May) for the lack of use of my laptop. In fact, I am surprised it isn't on the side of Route 9 in a million pieces. That was the relationship we had through college.


There was plenty of fun this winter!



This post will be short and sweet, as it would be pretty difficult to sum up the past 6 months. I will say that there were several serious events that occurred in my life. Some good, some bad.  I wouldn't be living in the so called "real world" if I hadn't experienced some of the bad. But that doesn't make it hurt less for any of us. Which is exactly why I hate that crazy saying. 
Anyways. This summer I have decided to find Tia again through the one thing that has always helped. Running. DUH. I have my eye on the Baystate Marathon in Mass. This would be in October, leaving me all summer to train. As always, there will be pros, and cons to summer training. The heat, lack of time, catching up with friends, etc. The con list is much longer and it starts with getting healthy mentally and physically.


This blog will be my journal of thoughts, questions, tips, nutritional information, and hopefully several race recaps.

I may not be a professional writer. But what I do know is that writing is therapy. Running is therapy too. So why not combine the two? Brilliant.

Stay tuned, stay healthy, stay happy,
Tia

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Week 5: Updates

Here I sit on a Thursday night. My knee and hip both sore, leaving me nothing but discouraged and scared. Tonight is the night where I may need to lower standards for myself. Nights like these require ear buds, two Gritty's Pub Style beers, and the company of my pets and fiance. It still feels so different saying that. Fiance, fiance, fiance. Yep, still feels funny.

Though I tell people I have been "training", I admit that I haven't been training as hard as I should be for these upcoming races. My goal for the half marathon: under two hours. My goal for the full marathon: under 4 hours.

Okay-- Before I get to the depressing/bad news I am going to put the good first. Joe and I bought a kitten two weeks ago. His name is Louie. No bigger than a football, this kitten has a lot of personality. The best part is: he isn't the typical "shitty kitty". He uses his litter box when needed, cuddles, plays gently, and most of all, he loves Tia and Joe! .. or ... Mom and Dad? Since I am new to the area, Louie has been a wonderful companion. He really listens to all of my problems, and provides little critical feedback. Why can't all men be like Louie? ;)

Louies hobbies: Cuddling, and reading the Hunger Games.

Meet Mr. Louie.





Louie, paying bills.
















With all of the cuteness aside. I have been torn with training. During the week my runs seems TOO easy. Meanwhile, I feel physically and mentally unprepared for my long runs. I know that beginner-intermediate plans are supposed to be like this, and yet I still feel like I am being fooled by the experts. There is something about the double digit distance that still churns my stomach.

Last year I had a large support group (all runners). Within ten minutes I was able to find at least two girls to run with at any time of the day. Right now I would give my left... pinky.. (seems less grueling) for that. I have indeed found a couple of people to run with on occasion, however the real world provides road blocks with planning dates. Am I the only one who is realizing this?! ..

Anyways. Things WILL get better. I will be increasing my visits with my chiropractor (who is excellent) for the next few months. With his advice I will decide if I am setting myself up for a hip replacement or not. If I am, I will be one funny looking bride, because I am NOT going to give up on running.. yet.

Here is my progress for the week. This is the first time I will be posting times. Yes, I have gotten slower since college. And it sucks. A lot.

Fifth Week:
August 13th-August 19th

Monday:
Always a rest day!

Tuesday:
Track workout. 6X3 minutes 75-80% intensity.
50 crunches & 5 pushups between intervals. One mile warmup/cooldown.

Wednesday:
Rest

Thursday:
3.3 miles-- Slow morning run. 33:00 minutes. This is a very slow time for me.
1 mile- Evening run. 8:14 minutes.

Friday:

Saturday:

Sunday:


The rest of the week will be updated. Tomorrow I plan to run 3-5, Saturday will be a 12 miler, and Sunday will be a slow 2-3 shake out, and possible swimming if my hip is hurting.


Track workouts aren't so bad. Especially nights like this. Simply gorgeous!


For now my plan is to listen to my body, hydrate, and remember all of the great things that are going in my life.


Saving the best for last. Hank, the greatest dog and companion on Earth.

Thanks for reading. Stay happy and healthy.

xoxo
-Tia

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Dynamic Dirt Challenge 2012

So according to my plan, I am scheduled to run five races this summer through the fall. The Dynamic Dirt Challenge, Tough Mudder, Old Port Half Marathon, MDI Half Marathon, and last MDI Marathon. This past weekend I was able to sucessfully check off the DDC (Dynamic Dirt Challenge). Though I may be shivering 5 days later, it was so, so, so much run fun  (I didn't mean to write that at first, but I thought it was funny). So our four (wo)man team goes by the name Wabi Sabi. This is the same team that will compete with me in the Tough Mudder.

I woke to a near flood outside. I thought, there is absolutely no way that this race is going to go on. Sure enough it was ON. On my way to the race I passed a few rivers nearly flooding over the tree/branch infected road. What the hell happened that night? As our team arrived to the race, the nerves set in. We knew some things about the race, but not all.

Things we knew
1. It was a 4.5 mile race.
2. There would be more than 5 obstacles through-out the race.
3. The race consisted of 99.9% trail running.
4. We were going to get wet.
5. No one was allowed on the course to spectate (unless you volunteered).

I honestly don't know why we were tip-toeing like sissys around the rain drops pre-race, because let me tell you, we were soaked head to toe (literally shoes full with water) by the end.

First obstacle (within 2 minutes of the race).



After sliding down the giant slip n' slide (going 100mph) we all stood mouths wide open, like: We can't wait to see what comes next!

The rest of the race was an absolute blast. We crawled through tunnels (disgusting). We dragged through a swamp (even more disgusting, bloody bunny tail). But more than anything, we SWAM. Because of all the rain, this race was intensified X100. In fact, several obstacles were shut down because of the rapid water.





Wabi Sabi came in third overall, which is pretty awesome. We finished in less than an hour, with one twisted ankle, a few cuts and bruises, hay and dirt in unwanted spots, and not to mention, FREEZING. Luckily we were rewarded with beer and pizza (at 10 a.m.).

I can't wait to do this next summer. I secretly hope it rains again, since it contributed to the shock factor.

For now, I am training and trying to get my mileage up. My knee has been bothering me. With some consistent chiropractor visits I am hoping to get better fast!

Next up: Tough Mudder.

*Tia*

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

My first marathon.

At one point in life, an unexpected thought may cross your mind. Often this thought is a result of an epiphany or maybe even a mid-life crisis. The inner you shouts, I want to run a marathon.  Maybe you have had several margaritas, your stomach is hanging over your Jcrew shorts, and you can't stop thinking about that 40 year old woman, ripped woman  you passed on your way to work. After that sentence escapes your mouth, an awkward silence awaits you. This moment is where you either bail or dedicate. Depending on your audience, the silence time may vary. *WARNING: if you HAVE consumed margaritas, silence time may not exist. Expect laughter, and lots of it.

In my case, this scenario only partially applied to me. After running two seasons of NCAA cross country, I realized that I needed a change. Although I was apart of a team, I felt like I had little to offer. *To quickly fill you in* I went to college to play basketball. After months of brainstorming, I decided last second that I was not going to play. Because of this decision, I am now a runner. As a freshmen in college, I roomed with two "recruit" runners, Sarah and Natalie. It was nearly impossible for me not to get into the sport. I was living, eating and breathing running through them (and I hadn't even started yet!) Each week I was challenged by them to run 1 mile.. 2 miles... 3 miles.. and eventually 6. Before I knew it, I was standing in front of the woman's cross country coach. How I "made the team" I'm not sure. Within the first few months of training, I experienced the painful injuries such as shin splints, and knee problems. Training with a team fulfilled the emptiness I felt without basketball in my life (though the sports differ to an extreme).

Four years later, the freshmen roommates still remain close! (Natalie, Sarah, and I)

As of today, I have completed many college races (5k's), one 10k, and one marathon. Exactly one year ago from today, I crossed the finish line of a 26.2 mile race. It was by far the most painful, grueling race I have ever ran. Sorry, I had to put the bad first. And here is the good: it was life changing. Instead of competing against skinny french braided girls from Harvard, UMass, and Tufts, I was competing against myself. This is why I continue to run. There isn't a better feeling than competing against yourself.

With little sleep the night before the race, I was ready. I anxiously woke at 4:30 a.m. I had one cup of coffee with a bagel on the side. My stomach and my mind were on two different pages. Actually, they were on two different chapters. Because of my nerves nothing was settling, if you know what I mean. On the positive side, my thoughts remained anxious, confident, and determined.

As my mother and I drove to  the start of the race an unforgiving downpour crashed against her windshield. What is it about rain that makes one worried? She turned to me and said "Tia, do you really think this race is going to happen?" I laughed nervously and said, of course it will mom! Though I sounded confident, I had never ran in such conditions. I secretly prayed that it would let up before the race began. I will tell you now, it didn't. Not once.

Because of the torrential downpour, I decided against a long warm-up. Instead, I stayed in the heated, comfortable car to stay dry. I have still have no regrets on doing so. After taking a few silly pictures, I parted ways with my mom. This was a difficult goodbye. I never had appreciated company so much that morning. It was like my first day of kindergarden. The elite runners sprinted past our car looking fierce and fearless. And here I was having a hard time saying goodbye to my mom. Dear God.

Photo shoot.




If you are wondering, my mom was NOT the only supporter there for me. My father, stepmother, stepbrother, his fiance, and two others spectated as well.

..I will speed this story up. So, the first ten miles were all uphill. Surprisingly I was able to bust them out. I kept my pace at almost exactly 10 minute miles. Though I was training at an 8:45 pace on a regular basis, I decided during the climb" of the race, (which was only in the beginning) would stay slow and steady. During these miles I met "the purple ladies". Little did I know that I would be highly dependent on them  during the last painful miles of the race.

Purple Ladies and I. Not a great picture-- but holy legs Tia!.. I will get there, soon.
As I peaked at 11 miles I stood on top of a large hill. This was where I was planning on "turning on the jets". Within minutes of striding down this .5 mile hill, my hip locked. It was at this moment I realized the rest of the race was going to be painful. Very. Very.  Painful. With a slow limp developing, I spotted my father on the side cheering, "turn on the jets Tia, now is the time!"  Trying not to cry, I calmly told him I needed IB profen, fast. The combination of the downpour, and the hip/knee  pain became discouraging. I began to weigh my options. Was I going to break my rule and walk? Was I going to get in the car with my dad?

"I want a burger with fries, a coke, a beer, and some Cheetos, maybe a shot too."
Picture of my Dad and I.

I finally accepted the fact that this race wasn't going to go as planned. I was not going to get my desired time, but I certainly was NOT going to get in that car. The last ten miles felt like a century. I was alone, cold, and barley covering grounds. Never have I been so close to hitchhiking. I had to dig deep. This was when I heard, "Tia?" I turn to see two of the Purple Ladies I had met within the first five miles. God send I tell ya. I couldn't have been more relieved. Together we finished the last painful miles.  Crossing the finish line was such a powerful moment. I didn't need horns, cheering, confetti, cake?... I needed to achieve that awkward, not-believable sentence I had said months ago: I want to run a marathon.



So when you do cross that finish line, look back on that day. Remember those who didn't think you could, or would. Remember those grueling training days, where you felt like you just couldn't do it anymore. Because in the end, it is so worth it (mentally and physically, of course). Like I said, it's life changing.

Some things I learned:

  1. Be more prepared. (Yes, eat the Gu, its weird but it works).
  2. People love to hear your story. Don't be afraid to say THIS IS MY FIRST MARATHON (loudly  because your music is turned up).
  3. Drink water at every station, even if your not thirsty.
  4. Expect the unexpected.
  5. For your first marathon: Do it to finish, not for a time.
  6. Enjoy it. Every painful mile.
Sorry this was so long. Print it out or something. But that is my story (not in a nutshell). Though things went wrong for me it was a learning experience. I crave my next marathon (in the fall).

Thanks for reading.

-Tia

Friday, May 18, 2012

Training takes time.

Hello all!-- Sometimes I feel weird writing that, since I believe I'm the only one on this blog. Prove me wrong, it will boost my confidence!

Today has been a great Friday. After a three mile run, and a 30 minute strength routine, it is only 1:16. I'm sure you are thinking.. so? I got that done before 10 a.m. Well, one thing you should know.. I like to procrastinate. Scratch that. I am a professional procrastinator. I am addicted to racing the clock and or deadlines (I really hope my future career is not at risk because of this post). If your my future boss, please skip to the next paragraph, thanks.  So, for instance. I have an appointment at 3:00 today. I will more than likely begin the shower/dress/makeup process at 2:15-2:20.............Okay Tia enough.

Anyways, like I was saying. Today has been a great Friday! I have been recently training as a barista. With two hours of taste testing on an empty stomach this a.m., I arrived home fully caffeinated and ready to exercise. It was awesome.  My run was much better than two days ago (after my motivation post, sad I know).  That day just wasn't my day. Usually, the more I think, the less ready I am mentally for my run. Such a mind game I tell ya. Can you relate? Though I am only in my second week of training, I have become paranoid that I won't be ready for my races.  This reoccurring negative cloud lingers during the first few weeks of my training. Possibly because I am running slower, I am panting, sweating, and my feet feel like lead blocks. Sunday I am scheduled to run 6 miles. After I accomplish that run, I am hoping that cloud will pass. I remind myself that training takes time. Months!



Training schedule. I've made some adjustments. (How do I rotate this!?)
On top of running, I have been strength training twice a week. This will hopefully be 'key' to a faster pace. My routine consists of:
  1. Bicep curls. Usually 8lbs X 20
  2. Triceps "scull crushers."          "
  3. Shoulders. 5lbs X12-15. Straight armed: front/side.
  4. Push-ups-Military (I am starting at 6. Don't laugh)
  5. Ab routine of choice
  6. Squats
  7. Lunges
  8. Chest fly. 8lbs X15
I do each exercise three times. Let me know if you want more details/pictures. I would LOVE to help, considering that is my career choice:)

Last, I have been working on hydration! Since I don't enjoy water as much as I should, I have been sticking with Vita Coco water. I swear by this stuff.  Electrolytes/no sugar= Happy Tia, and all other runners who do not drink nearly enough ... water ;)

 


That's all I've got for today. Two key things I must remind myself (you should too if your in a rut)
1. Training takes time.
2. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.

Thanks for reading.
::Tia::





Wednesday, May 16, 2012

It is time to MOTIVATE.

Here I sit in my running clothes. It has been approximately 2 hours since I said "I am going on a run." There are two things wrong here. The first, I am not outside running right now. The second, I am not outside RUNNING right now!

With several races ahead of me ...(Dynamic Dirt Challenge, Tough Mudder, Old Port Half Marathon, MDI Half Marathon, and MDI Full Marathon.... thats all), I am in desperate need of motivation.

Exactly one year ago I was preparing for my first marathon. I was confident, determined, and most importantly, I was motivated.

This blog will hopefully dig up those ancient feelings that I felt last year. As I write I hope to inspire myself, as well as others to get outside and RUN.
5 miles of grey tar and my ipod. I can do it. Anyone can!

You'll know where to find me. In case you forgot, I will be OUTSIDE running RIGHT NOW! :)